Crock Pot Cilantro Lime Chicken

 This is one of my husband’s favorite meals that I make. You can serve it over rice like I do… Or put it in a tortilla shell like my husband does. Feel free to top it with any garnishes you like! I make mine like I make my  Chipotle burrito bowls. Freezer meal directions below.

Ingredients 

  • 24 oz jar of your favorite salsa
  • Juice from one lime
  • 1/2 cup fresh chopped cilantro
  • 1.25 oz packet of taco seasoning
  • 2 large jalapeños, chopped (optional)
  • 6-7 chicken breasts

Directions 

  1. Mix salsa, lime juice, cilantro, seasoning, and jalapeños in a bowl
  2. Place chicken in crock pot and cover with salsa mixture
  3. Cook on low for 6 hours

You can serve the chicken pieces topped with salsa mixture, or shred. Which ever you prefer!

For a freezer meal…

Directions 

  1. Double all ingredients to split between two bags
  2. One bag at a time, dump the ingredients for one into a gallon size freezer bag
  3. Add chicken, and seal
  4. Push salsa mixture around in bag to coat chicken and freeze

Cooking directions 

  1. Cook on low for 8 hours
  2. Serve over rice or in tortilla shell with desired toppings

Leave a comment